New Zealand Certificate in Financial Services Level 5

The New Zealand Certificate in Financial Services (Level 5), (NZCFS Level 5), is the new benchmark qualification for financial adviser authorisation. All new enrolments for the Level 5 Certificate must enrol in this qualification.

This qualification provides people in the financial services industry with the appropriate operational and specialist knowledge. It is suitable for those both working in the industry and for those who wish to enter. It is a natural progression from the Level 4 New Zealand Certificate in Financial Services, but that Certificate is not a pre-requisite. To complete NZCFS Level 5, candidates must complete Core plus at least one strand of their choice.

Diagram of the structure of NZCFS Level 5
The structure of NZCFS Level 5. Download a PDF

Strands available through Strategi Institute

Banking and Trustee Strands are also available as part of the New Zealand Certificate. Please contact us if you are interested in either of these options.

NZCFS Level 5 training is available via:

  • Online learning via our online learning platform Radar.
  • Classroom learning (subject to minimum numbers) for both in-house and external training.
  • One-on-one private coaching.

All learning modes are supported, either directly in the classroom or remotely via Radar, Skype, email etc., by Strategi Institute’s expert tutors, drawn from the industry. They are experienced people, and are there to make your studies relevant, practical and career-driven.

The assessment/assignment requirements for Core and for each strand, are the same, irrespective of how you undertake your study. Core, Investment, Life and Health Insurance, General Insurance, and Residential Property Lending Strands will be assessed via Microsoft Word-based assignments and/or online assessments via Radar. The Financial Advice Strand assessment is via a combination of an online exam sat through Skills Organisation, and assessment by a Strategi Institute assessor based on a submitted portfolio of evidence. All assessments are as close to real life business practice as possible.

Online learning

Online learning is for advisers who want to spend as little time away from their business as possible. It is best suited to financial advisers who do not wish to spend the time or money attending a classroom based course, and is ideal for experienced advisers plus those who can study and complete assignments using a computer or tablet. The manuals and assignments are all online via the Strategi Institute online learning platform, Radar. Printed course material can be provided on request (distance learning) for an additional fee.

Classroom learning

Classroom learning is ideal for advisers looking to gain self-confidence and business credibility. It is also appropriate for those who work in the industry, but are not necessarily advisers per se. Strategi Institute schedules courses quarterly or as demand requires. Students can either attend a Strategi Institute public course, or we can train groups, corporates and networks in their own offices. Find out why many advisers choose classroom study.

Private coaching

Strategi Institute trainers are available to train one-one–one with candidates across all the standard sets. Private coaching is ideal for advisers who:

  • Need to complete in the fastest time possible
  • Are experienced and while not requiring a class, need a quick refresher in some areas to update their knowledge
  • Have difficulty in a classroom situation, perhaps through language difficulties.

Contact us to enquire about private coaching services.

Which NZCFS Level 5 courses do I need to do for authorisation?

In order to become authorised by the FMA, if completing the NZCFS advisers must complete the Core unit standards plus the Investment Strand and the Financial Advice Strand. Some qualifications are recognised as alternatives for the purposes of authorisation, and these are outlined in the Competence Alternatives Schedule, Schedule G in the Code of Professional Conduct for Authorised Financial Advisers, December 2016. Please note that all advisers seeking authorisation, irrespective of qualifications or designations, must have attained Unit Standard 26360, as per Code Standard 15.